Webcasts

Fire EMS

May 5, 2020 at 5:00 PM EDT / 4:00 PM CDT / 2:00 PM PDT / 9:00 PM GMTAn all-hazards disaster planning and management program is a good start toward being prepared as an organization and responding to the pandemic. However, beyond the basics, a pandemic requires much internal planning related to continuity of operations.
Fire EMS

April 28, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

Why double down on a broken system that hasn’t worked for disasters, active shooter incidents, or large-scale events? In the largest pandemic of our lifetime, learn how clinical leaders in both Texas and Colorado are using mobile technology to not only manage the COVID-19 crisis, but also lay the foundation for the new reality of EMS, including Mobile Integrated Healthcare, Community Paramedicine, and Telehealth.

Fitness

May 12, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This Webcast is a must if you want to take your health and wellness to the next level. The focus is on a comprehensive approach to firefighter wellness. It provides a much needed “gut check” and offers information and tips for more comprehensive fitness, improved performance, a reduced risk of injury and illness, and increased longevity.

Firefighter Training

April 30, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This Webcast will review identifying unknown powders and substances and also provide an overview of COVID-19 PPE considerations and decon. This information can serve as the basis for a standard operating procedure for your department that covers size-up; PPE; and respiratory selection, decontamination, and identification.

Firefighter Training

April 21, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This Webcast combines the research and outreach initiatives of the UL Firefighter Safety Research Institute (FSRI) and presents curriculum relevant to strategic and tactical decision making and developing best practices for mounting an intelligent interior fire attack. The focus is on identifying the “real estate” between the so-called “aggressive” interior attack and “surround and drown.”

Fire Instructor Development

May 7, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This presentation is geared to illustrate key points in preparation, size up, fire ground command, and decision making. The concepts are vital for firefighters of all ranks. A firefighter who has the ability to think like an incident commander is better prepared to make confident and effective decisions on the fireground.

Firefighting

This event was recorded April 9, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.
Whether you are new to the reading smoke topic or a longtime practitioner, improved decision making relies on the cues and clues available in reading smoke.
Firefighter Training

This event was recorded April 7, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

This webcast aims to increase awareness about standard and transmission-based infection-control practices and teaches learners how the “Identify, Isolates and Inform” strategy can improve their ability to recognize and manage an infectious disease threats like COVID-19, MERS (Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome) or Ebola.

Leadership

This event was recorded April 16, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

This highly interactive, fun, and humorous Webcast focuses on the tools necessary for succession planning in today’s fire service. Leadership is talked about throughout the fire service, but building in-house modern leaders ready to fill the gap left by their predecessors remains an elusive accomplishment.